Jupyter receives the ACM Software System Award
A tiny subset of the Jupyter contributors and users that made Jupyter possible — Biannual development meeting, 2016, LBNL. (Photo: blog.jupyter.org)

Jupyter receives the ACM Software System Award


Simula's Min Ragan-Kelley is among the 15 steering committee members, who are the official award winners. The ACM Software System Award is awarded annually to an institution or individual(s) recognized for developing a software system that has had a lasting influence.

Prestigious technical award

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, today announced the recipients of four prestigious technical awards. These leaders were selected by their peers for making significant contributions that have had far-reaching impact on the ascendance of computing as an integral part of how we live and work today, opening promising new avenues for research exploration and commercial application in the coming years. The 2017 recipients will be formally honored at the ACM Awards Banquet onJune 23, 2018in San Francisco.

The 2017 Award recipients include members of the Project Jupyter Steering Council,recipients of theACM Software System Award, for Project Jupyter. Project Jupyter isa broad collaboration that develops open source tools for interactive computing, with a language-agnostic design. These tools, which include IPython, the Jupyter Notebook and JupyterHub, have become a de facto standard for data analysis in research, education, journalism and industry. Jupyter has broad impact across domains and use cases. Today more than 2,000,000 Jupyter notebooks are on GitHub, each a distinct instance of a Jupyter application—covering a range of uses from technical documentation to course materials, books and academic publications.

Wide industry adoption

Since 2015, Jupyter-based products have been released by several companies including Google (Cloud DataLab), Microsoft (AzureML, HDInsight), Intel (Trusted Analytics Platform), and IBM (Watson Studio). Bloomberg and Anaconda Inc have partnered with Project Jupyter to develop the next-generation web interface, JupyterLab.

The original Project Jupyter Steering Council isled by Fernando Perez and Brian Granger, and includesMin Ragan-Kelley, Paul Ivanov, Thomas Kluyver, Jason Grout, Matthias Bussonnier, Damian Avila, Steven Silvester, Jonathan Frederic, Kyle Kelley, Jessica Hamrick, Carol Willing, Sylvain Corlay and Peter Parente.

The ACM Software System Awardis presented to an institution or individual(s) recognized for developing a software system that has had a lasting influence, reflected in contributions to concepts, in commercial acceptance, or both. The Software System Award carries a prize of $35,000. Financial support for the Software System Award is provided by IBM.

The Project Jupyter blog writes about the award here.You can also read more about the ACM Software System Award.